Ohio Business Law, Family Law & Criminal Defense
Free Consultation 330.809.1062
Experienced Ohio Law Firm

First OVI Offense in Ohio

Learn How We Can Help Today - Call (330) 809-1062

Even if you have a clean record, a first OVI offense can bring about serious penalties and repercussions. Without a proven defense lawyer on your side, you could find yourself facing a number of serious consequences. The more you understand about your case and the potential penalties, the more you can be informed and prepared.

Penalties for a First OVI Offense:

  • Between 3 days in jail / driver intervention program
  • $375 to $1,075 in fines and fees
  • Minimum of 90-day license suspension
  • License reinstatement fee of $450
  • 1-year license suspension for refusing the chemical test

It is important to note that a first OVI conviction will carry over to future DUI charges for up to 6 years, which is the official lookback period in the state of Ohio.

Additional Penalties

While awaiting a plea or trial, you may also be ordered to submit to random drug/alcohol testing, or be ordered to wear a SCRAM monitor. You may also have your driving privileges stripped from you or limited.

You may receive additional penalties if:

  • Your arrest was for a collision that involved an injury or fatality;
  • Your blood alcohol content was above 0.17 percent; or
  • A minor child was in the vehicle at the time of the accident.

Call (330) 809-1062 to Reach Our Firm

No DUI case is too tough for us to handle. Time and again, our firm has successfully handled cases that were cast into the national and international spotlight. Whatever charges and penalties you face, our Summit County criminal defense firm is ready with the powerhouse advocacy you deserve on your side. Don't hesitate to see how we may be able to get your DUI or OVI charges reduced or dismissed. We won't rest until your case does!

Beat your OVI / DUI charge! Contact VanHo Law for your free case review!

  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1